Saturday, December 31, 2011

Friday, December 23, 2011

Wednesday, December 07, 2011

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Tuesday, November 08, 2011

Monday, October 31, 2011

Friday, October 21, 2011

done dieting

Calling it a day. Metaphorically

Friday, October 14, 2011

I am the 99%

A handful of friends and even more strangers have criticized the Occupy Wall Street protesters because of a perceived laziness or their inability to "suck it up and get whatever job they can." More criticism follows the movement, chiding its vague directives and lack of demands. To these critics, I say:

You're missing the point.

Wherever you stand on politics, immigration, taxes or marriage, we must agree on one thing: Our current system is wounded. We're living in a pay-to-play political system, where our elected leaders have a price and the platforms upon which we elected those representatives are forgotten in the interest of corporate lobbyists and big business.

Remember when newspapers weren't all owned by the same company, TV stations didn't promote parallel stories in newspapers and a billionaire octogenarian from Australia wasn't whispering in the ear of our conservative bloc? In the past two decades, the FCC has made every effort to relax the regulations on cross media ownership, monopolies and foreign-owned media. Do you honestly believe those limitations were relaxed for free, out of concern for the American people? This is why we have a government: to protect our interests. Not Rupert Murdoch's.

Remember when we didn't have to pay extra for hormone-free milk? Food should be organic by default. There is no reason why I should worry about eating foods with dangerous pesticides, known carcinogens and wood pulp. Have you ever seen cellulose listed as an ingredient in your food? Food manufacturers use it as a filler to create volume and extend shelf life in their food products. It's wood. From a tree. You’re eating wood and there's no limit on how much cellulose companies are allowed to add. Schools are banning peanut butter because of the growing number of allergies in children, a condition that some scientists argue is caused by the pesticides and not the peanuts. We shouldn't have to worry about listeria, e-Coli and paying $12 a gallon for bottled [tap] water because our own water supply is questionably clean. This is why we have a government: to protect our interests. Not ConAgra's.

Remember when standardized tests were something we took once before college and school policy was guided by a local government, not the federal? These days, kids as young as seven years old are forced to spend their entire school year in preparation for one week of myopic testing that will be the sole measurement of their scholastic achievement. It will also determine the amount of funding a school receives. You know who thinks annual standardized testing is a great idea? The three companies that produce the tests. It's no coincidence that hundreds of thousands of dollars are spent by these companies each year to directly lobby our elected representatives, who then sign off on the notion that one test result is an adequate performance gauge for every student across the country. This is why we have a government: to protect our interests. Not the Educational Testing Service.

Wall Street is a symbol for corporate lack of accountability. Greed isn't good. You know what's good? A strong middle class whose best interests are protected by a transparent government. This is why the Occupy Wall Street movement has not issued demands or directives. Where do we begin?

You've heard the argument: America's democracy isn't perfect, but it's the best we've got. Let it continue to be the best by allowing constitutionally-protected dissent, stopping government corruption, and demanding that our elected representatives protect our interests, not that of their pockets.

#occupywallstreet

Saturday, September 24, 2011

Saturday, September 17, 2011

Friday, September 16, 2011

The diet continues

Only five more pounds to go.

Sunday, August 28, 2011

Saturday, August 13, 2011

day 44

of diet. Sixteen pounds down. Fifteen more to go.

Thursday, August 04, 2011

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

not it

Way to avoid blame, Con Ed.

Sunday, July 17, 2011

Friday, July 08, 2011

Saturday, July 02, 2011

day 2

Only 88 more days to go.

diabolito

Saturday, June 04, 2011

Friday, June 03, 2011

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Saturday, May 28, 2011

Monday, May 23, 2011

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Monday, May 16, 2011

Sunday, May 15, 2011

Tuesday, May 03, 2011

Finally

America catches on.

Thursday, April 21, 2011

test post

After eight safe years, someone hacked into my blog. What gives, jerks?

hello nasty

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Saturday, April 09, 2011

Sunday, April 03, 2011

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Proud

Sunday, March 20, 2011

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Monday, February 28, 2011

Sunday, February 27, 2011

Sunday, February 13, 2011

Thursday, February 03, 2011